6G Celicas Forums

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Shift Light, How-To
post Oct 8, 2005 - 10:57 PM
+Quote Post
Defgeph



Moderator
*****
Joined Apr 17, '03
From Rockland NY
Currently Offline

Reputation: 15 (100%)




OK here goes.

I hooked mine up to a 3sgteRC.
Not sure if the 7a and 5s are the same.

The unit has three wires. Black, Red, Green(in mycase)

Black goes to ground. The red goes to positve, like the cig lighter.
Green or signal wire connects to the solid black wire on your ignitor in the engine bay.

After ur done you should have something like this
user posted image

The end

DEF


--------------------

I will return one day.
post Oct 8, 2005 - 11:39 PM
+Quote Post
lagos



Enthusiast
*****
Joined Aug 31, '02
From Philadelphia, PA
Currently Offline

Reputation: 8 (100%)




what shift light did you get?

im pretty sure that one of the wires on the ignitor is what sends out the rpm signal to the ecu.


--------------------
15PSI - 30MPG - Megasquirt Tuned
post Oct 8, 2005 - 11:53 PM
+Quote Post
lagos



Enthusiast
*****
Joined Aug 31, '02
From Philadelphia, PA
Currently Offline

Reputation: 8 (100%)




i THINK the black wire goes directly from the ignitor to your tach.. so if you splice into that, it should work.


--------------------
15PSI - 30MPG - Megasquirt Tuned
post Oct 9, 2005 - 2:18 AM
+Quote Post
Coomer



Administrator
*****
Joined Aug 23, '02
From Seattle, WA
Currently Offline

Reputation: 14 (100%)




The signal wire does go to your RPM signal(tach) wire, which can be tested for with a multimeter.

To ensure that you're finding the right wire, set your multimeter in AC mode and probe wires while revving the engine. The RPM signal wire gives a low voltage that rises(but still stays under 10 volts I think...can't remember for sure though) as the RPM rises.


--------------------
New Toyota project coming soon...
post Dec 4, 2005 - 12:16 AM
+Quote Post
djultimate



Enthusiast
*
Joined Dec 1, '05
From South Windsor, CT
Currently Offline

Reputation: 0 (0%)




I'm obviously a n00b so you may think this is a dumb question...
Someone please enlighten me.... i crave knowledge
What purpose does a shift light actually serve?

Does it just tell you when you should shift gears? If so, do you really need a light for that?? I've been driving stick for 10 years so i wouldnt need a light to tell me when to shift.

What are the pros/cons??


--------------------
post Dec 4, 2005 - 4:21 PM
+Quote Post
blu94gt



Enthusiast
****
Joined Mar 23, '05
From Kansas City
Currently Offline

Reputation: 0 (0%)




QUOTE(djultimate @ Dec 3, 2005 - 11:16 PM) [snapback]363075[/snapback]

I'm obviously a n00b so you may think this is a dumb question...
Someone please enlighten me.... i crave knowledge
What purpose does a shift light actually serve?

Does it just tell you when you should shift gears? If so, do you really need a light for that?? I've been driving stick for 10 years so i wouldnt need a light to tell me when to shift.

What are the pros/cons??


lol I kind of agree. I don't think I would ever put a shift light in my car, I don't need it to tell me when to shift


--------------------
1999 Celica GT
post Dec 4, 2005 - 4:45 PM
+Quote Post
Bigmeanbulldog55



Enthusiast
*****
Joined Jun 1, '03
From WV
Currently Offline

Reputation: 2 (100%)




Yeah, you don't need a light if it takes your car a while to get from shift point to shift point. If it jumps faster, it's good to have. And for these guys running turbo set up especially, it's kind of a warning light that the rpm's are too high and they need to shift. If your doing autocross or something, you can't look at the rpm gauge all the time, so it's good to have a light you can see out of the corner of your eye that lets you know to shift. I doubt I'll ever need a shift light with my 5sfe, but if I put a 3sgte, 3sge, or 4age in my car, I'd want one for safety.


--------------------
Live Free, Be Happy
IPB Image
post Dec 4, 2005 - 9:35 PM
+Quote Post
Defgeph



Moderator
*****
Joined Apr 17, '03
From Rockland NY
Currently Offline

Reputation: 15 (100%)




This is exactly why I have a shift light. When involved in a race, I dont want to look down to watch the tach. So this light does it for me. At my designated shift point the light hits, and I shift.

The shift points are very quick for the turbo guys. I love this light, I can keep my eye on the road and not have to look down.

DEF


--------------------

I will return one day.
post Dec 4, 2005 - 10:48 PM
+Quote Post
97lestyousay



Enthusiast
*****
Joined Jul 7, '03
Currently Offline

Reputation: 55 (100%)




:

This post has been edited by 97lestyousay: Apr 5, 2012 - 5:07 PM


--------------------
Dude where's my car?
post Dec 5, 2005 - 1:37 AM
+Quote Post
djultimate



Enthusiast
*
Joined Dec 1, '05
From South Windsor, CT
Currently Offline

Reputation: 0 (0%)




QUOTE(Bigmeanbulldog55 @ Dec 4, 2005 - 4:45 PM) [snapback]363194[/snapback]

for these guys running turbo set up especially, it's kind of a warning light that the rpm's are too high and they need to shift. If your doing autocross or something, you can't look at the rpm gauge all the time, so it's good to have a light you can see out of the corner of your eye that lets you know to shift.


ooohhhhh, now i get it... that makes sense. pretty good idea.


--------------------
post Dec 5, 2005 - 1:43 AM
+Quote Post
Defgeph



Moderator
*****
Joined Apr 17, '03
From Rockland NY
Currently Offline

Reputation: 15 (100%)




Glad to help DJ, Its a very helpful tool when the throttle is floored.



DEF


--------------------

I will return one day.
post Sep 11, 2006 - 4:01 PM
+Quote Post
tomazws



Enthusiast
*****
Joined Oct 30, '04
From So Cal
Currently Offline

Reputation: 13 (100%)




I'd just like to let u know that if I ever install one of these shift lights, and set it to 5, 6K....

I don't expect my light to ever go on in my life time. tongue.gif


--------------------
post Jul 26, 2008 - 1:29 PM
+Quote Post
hardcoreproducer



Enthusiast
*
Joined Jul 2, '08
From Midlands, UK
Currently Offline

Reputation: 0 (0%)




more like 7k, just off the redline, 65mph in 2nd hehe woot.gif
post Jun 11, 2010 - 11:59 AM
+Quote Post
Chuck

Enthusiast

Joined Jun 11, '10
From Brazil
Currently Offline

Reputation: 0 (0%)




Hello,
I have a question about the instalation, where did you pulled the signal wire??
post Jun 11, 2010 - 4:15 PM
+Quote Post
Batman722



Enthusiast
*****
Joined Mar 8, '04
From Newport, RI
Currently Offline

Reputation: 63 (99%)




QUOTE (defgeph @ Oct 8, 2005 - 11:57 PM) *
Black goes to ground. The red goes to positve, like the cig lighter.
Green or signal wire connects to the solid black wire on your ignitor in the engine bay.


QUOTE (Chuck @ Jun 11, 2010 - 12:59 PM) *
Hello,
I have a question about the instalation, where did you pulled the signal wire??



--------------------
post Jun 12, 2010 - 12:54 PM
+Quote Post
terbear4god4life



Enthusiast
****
Joined Oct 10, '08
From sweet home, OR
Currently Offline

Reputation: 3 (100%)




or a simpler shift light and a lil more useful

a stri sequential shift light plugs straight into a cigarette lighter using a 12v signal and is still very accurate no tach wire or anything just plug and play
you set a low and high like me personally have the low(so the first led comes on) at 4k and set the last led too just about 5.5k


ill make a write up soon
http://www.importpartspro.com/esi-comp.html

http://www.6gc.net/photo/member/10052/4
here it is in my car the unit itself is in the middle of the steering wheel and the control box is were the clock should be biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by terbear4god4life: Jun 12, 2010 - 12:57 PM


--------------------
"she can polish my strut bar anytime As long as her blow-off valve's in good order"
post Jun 17, 2010 - 4:23 PM
+Quote Post
KAOS



Enthusiast
*****
Joined Apr 18, '06
From Calgary, Canada
Currently Offline

Reputation: 37 (100%)




QUOTE (Batman722 @ Jun 11, 2010 - 3:15 PM) *
QUOTE (defgeph @ Oct 8, 2005 - 11:57 PM) *
Black goes to ground. The red goes to positve, like the cig lighter.
Green or signal wire connects to the solid black wire on your ignitor in the engine bay.


Would it be possible to hook up/splice the signal wire directly into the tach wire at the back of the speedo cluster?


--------------------

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: November 12th, 2019 - 8:00 AM