> trunk release, releases, but doesnt pop
post Oct 8, 2007 - 9:52 AM
+Quote Post
Valo666

Enthusiast
Joined May 15, '05
From Toronto
Currently Offline

One of the few problems left on the coupe is that when i pull up on the trunk release, it releases the latch, but doesnt actully pop the trunk up...so its pretty pointless unless some one is standing right behind the car and pulls up on the trunk while im holding the lever up. Same thing with when we put the key in the trunk, we have to hold the key turned, and then pull up on the trunk to get it to open. Is this common with coupes? or standard? I have never been near a coupe untill we got sarah's, so im still learning things about them as i go. Any ways, if this isnt suppost to be happening, any idea of how i can get it to pop??
post Oct 8, 2007 - 10:03 AM
+Quote Post
95CelicaST

Enthusiast
Joined Feb 5, '05
From pineapple under the sea
Currently Offline

Your problem is the TRD spoiler. Its too heavy to pop the trunk up. I have the same issue. I pull the lever and go to the back and hope my door doesn't close because the trunk will lock again.

I guess with the addition if the spoiler you loose that bit of functionality.

--------------------
1991 MR2 - T-tops - Crimson Red - Gen3 3SGTE - Lots of money

I'm not really an asshole, but I play one on the internet.
**** Photobucket
post Oct 8, 2007 - 11:07 AM
+Quote Post
RCTCelica

Enthusiast
Joined Jul 2, '05
From NYC
Currently Offline

this use to happen to my girls eclipse. i just tighten the release cable and the problem was corrected. i'm not too sure if it's the same with the coupe but the problem you described is pretty much the same.
post Oct 8, 2007 - 1:02 PM
+Quote Post
Batman722

Enthusiast
Joined Mar 8, '04
From Newport, RI
Currently Offline

it's not just because of the TRD spoiler. A friend of mine has a 95 coupe with a stock spoiler and it does the same thing.