6G Celicas Forums

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> DIY: How To Change Your Driver Side CV Axle, includes, transmission fluid drain and fill and Axle Seal
post May 10, 2009 - 1:17 PM
+Quote Post
vile_v

Enthusiast
Joined Jun 16, '07
From Vancouver, Canada
Currently Offline

A DIY FOR REPLACING YOUR DRIVER SIDE CV AXLE on a GT
(I am not a mechanic so used this guide at your own risk!) The reason why I changed my CV axle is because the boot was ripped and it made a loud clicking noise on small turns. This was done on a 1995 GT Convertible and it took me about 3 hours to do. Good luck, and I hope this helps!

TOOLS & PARTS LIST

- jack + jack tools
- wheel block
- jack stand
- 1/2 ratchet + extension
- 3/8 ratchet + extension
- torque wrench
- 14mm, 17mm, 24mm, 30mm socket
- gloves
- gear oil (SAE 75W-90; 2.6 litres:2.7 US qts)
- cv axle (i'll get the toyota part number later because i used a aftermarket axle)
- transmission seal (90311-35019)
- Toyota manual
- hammer (rubber preferred)
- smally pry bar
- pliers
- two prong puller removal tool
- 5mm allen key
- 2 medium sizer cotter pins
- towel

- *a friend to help you

SETUP & PREPARATION

1. setup a wheel blocker (actually wheel blocker or a nice 2x4 is fine)
2. loosen wheel lug nuts with a 21mm socket

3. raise car with jack, and place a jack stand under the car for safety reasons
*if you have a convertible you should unlatch your top to avoid any extra pressure that happens from jacking up your car*
4. remove lug nuts and than the wheel

REMOVAL

5. remove transmission drain plug with a 24mm socket and drain the fluid out

6. use your lug nuts to protect your wheel studs

7. remove cotter pin with side cutters or pliers and than lock cap
8. loosen the bearing lock nut
* I had my friend step on the brakes as i was removing the nut. I was using a 30mm socket on a 1/2 ratchet, i position the ratchet up straight and just whacked it with a rubber mallet