6G Celicas Forums

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> 3sgte immobilizer
post Mar 6, 2017 - 9:58 PM
+Quote Post
jordanv95

Enthusiast

Joined Mar 6, '17
Currently Offline

Reputation: 0 (0%)




hey everyone, ive searched and searched and could not find any definite answers. I have a 5th gen 3sgte swap In my 6th gen celica. I found out after the fact that the 5th gen ecu happens to have an immobilizer. My question is has anyone ever found a solution to this problem? any way to bypass it at all? Even desolder the immobilizer chip from the ecu completely? I know that used to work on older Hondas so I figured its a possibility. I'm just trying to find a way to get around it without having to get a gen 4 ecu and coils. any help is greatly appreciated! thank you!
post Mar 7, 2017 - 11:01 AM
+Quote Post
slavie

Enthusiast
**
Joined May 2, '15
From NY
Currently Offline

Reputation: 3 (100%)




QUOTE (jordanv95 @ Mar 6, 2017 - 10:58 PM) *
hey everyone, ive searched and searched and could not find any definite answers. I have a 5th gen 3sgte swap In my 6th gen celica. I found out after the fact that the 5th gen ecu happens to have an immobilizer. My question is has anyone ever found a solution to this problem? any way to bypass it at all? Even desolder the immobilizer chip from the ecu completely? I know that used to work on older Hondas so I figured its a possibility. I'm just trying to find a way to get around it without having to get a gen 4 ecu and coils. any help is greatly appreciated! thank you!

Are you sure about that? The PN on the ECU must be different from a normal one.

Doubt there would be an easy way to disable the immobilizer, those things were meant to be hard to defeat. You either have to get it programmed to a key - at a dealer or independent shop that can do that - or get a new ECU. Would depend, of course, on how complete your swap is. Another option would be to get the ignition cylinder with lock and key from your engine donor, if you still have access to that, and it should work without needing to be reprogrammed.

I have the same swap, actually, but don't think I have the immobilizer (I've replaced the ignition cylinder with no issues, so I must not). I have the ECU from Gen5 alltrac, and I believe Gen2 MR2 turbo ECUs should work as well, as they're the same engine. MR2 ECU might be missing a few horses vs ST185 one, as I recall.

Good luck!
post Mar 7, 2017 - 11:23 AM
+Quote Post
jordanv95

Enthusiast

Joined Mar 6, '17
Currently Offline

Reputation: 0 (0%)




okay thats what i figured! thanks for the help though! now i just need to find a gen4 ecu
post Mar 7, 2017 - 10:52 PM
+Quote Post
HardHead93

Enthusiast
**
Joined Apr 7, '15
From New Mexico
Currently Offline

Reputation: 0 (0%)




QUOTE (jordanv95 @ Mar 6, 2017 - 10:58 PM) *
hey everyone, ive searched and searched and could not find any definite answers. I have a 5th gen 3sgte swap In my 6th gen celica. I found out after the fact that the 5th gen ecu happens to have an immobilizer. My question is has anyone ever found a solution to this problem? any way to bypass it at all? Even desolder the immobilizer chip from the ecu completely? I know that used to work on older Hondas so I figured its a possibility. I'm just trying to find a way to get around it without having to get a gen 4 ecu and coils. any help is greatly appreciated! thank you!


Call Wiregap, when I last talked to them, they were working on a way of cracking the immobilizer on the 5th gen. He may have a solution for you that won't require getting a 4th gen ECU.
post Mar 12, 2017 - 11:01 PM
+Quote Post
Smaay

Enthusiast
*****
Joined Dec 8, '03
From Lancaster CA
Currently Offline

Reputation: 6 (100%)




QUOTE (slavie @ Mar 7, 2017 - 8:01 AM) *
QUOTE (jordanv95 @ Mar 6, 2017 - 10:58 PM) *
hey everyone, ive searched and searched and could not find any definite answers. I have a 5th gen 3sgte swap In my 6th gen celica. I found out after the fact that the 5th gen ecu happens to have an immobilizer. My question is has anyone ever found a solution to this problem? any way to bypass it at all? Even desolder the immobilizer chip from the ecu completely? I know that used to work on older Hondas so I figured its a possibility. I'm just trying to find a way to get around it without having to get a gen 4 ecu and coils. any help is greatly appreciated! thank you!

Are you sure about that? The PN on the ECU must be different from a normal one.

Doubt there would be an easy way to disable the immobilizer, those things were meant to be hard to defeat. You either have to get it programmed to a key - at a dealer or independent shop that can do that - or get a new ECU. Would depend, of course, on how complete your swap is. Another option would be to get the ignition cylinder with lock and key from your engine donor, if you still have access to that, and it should work without needing to be reprogrammed.

I have the same swap, actually, but don't think I have the immobilizer (I've replaced the ignition cylinder with no issues, so I must not). I have the ECU from Gen5 alltrac, and I believe Gen2 MR2 turbo ECUs should work as well, as they're the same engine. MR2 ECU might be missing a few horses vs ST185 one, as I recall.

Good luck!


gen 2 MR2 ECUs are totally different and the ST185. they will not run your car. just cause the engine is a 3S does not mean its the same.


--------------------
2001 Celica GT-S Turbo
1997 Supra TT 6speed
1997 Celica 3MZ/1MZ swap
1990 Celica All-Trac
post Mar 12, 2017 - 11:16 PM
+Quote Post
richee3



Moderator
*****
Joined Jun 29, '08
From Denver
Currently Offline

Reputation: 59 (100%)




I believe he's referring to the ST215 engine. I've seen some debate that a 5th gen 3S-GTE exists, while some insist it's just a lightly updated 4th gen.


--------------------
"Employ your time in improving yourself by other men's writings, so that you shall gain easily what others labored hard for." -Socrates. Even Socrates told us to use the search button!

Mine- 1997 Supra- TT 6 speed, BPU. 460 whp.
Hers- 1998 Celica GT-
BEAMS Swapped.
Ours- 2016 4Runner Trail Edition.
post Mar 13, 2017 - 2:15 AM
+Quote Post
Wild202



Enthusiast
*
Joined Jan 10, '17
From Russia, Izhevsk
Currently Offline

Reputation: 0 (0%)




If you want to put individual ignition coils, you still need to change the ECU to a 4-gene.
The 3-gene ECU with coils can not work.


--------------------
Email - vad07@inbox.ru
WhatsApp - +7 (912) 764-31-86
post Mar 13, 2017 - 11:46 AM
+Quote Post
richee3



Moderator
*****
Joined Jun 29, '08
From Denver
Currently Offline

Reputation: 59 (100%)




If you do decide to run the 4th gen ECU and coil packs,, a member here has one for sale.

http://www.6gc.net/forums/index.php?showtopic=97473

Forgive my ignorance but what is the difference between the 4th and 5th gen 3S COP's? I was under the impression that they used the same ones.


--------------------
"Employ your time in improving yourself by other men's writings, so that you shall gain easily what others labored hard for." -Socrates. Even Socrates told us to use the search button!

Mine- 1997 Supra- TT 6 speed, BPU. 460 whp.
Hers- 1998 Celica GT-
BEAMS Swapped.
Ours- 2016 4Runner Trail Edition.

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: August 20th, 2018 - 8:05 PM