6G Celicas Forums

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Easiest way to get a gauge cluster with a gear indicator A/T
post Jun 10, 2022 - 5:05 PM
+Quote Post
LgcJairen

Enthusiast

Joined Dec 9, '20
From PIttsburgh, PA
Currently Offline

Reputation: 0 (0%)




Ok i know this place is quiter than it used to be and i'm late to the party but i picked up a clean low mileage vert (5th and 6gc were one of my childhood bucket list cars) and have begun the rolling project of making a "fast" auto, it's my thing and i've done it on multiple cars in the past. it's fun and different.


anyway the one thing that really irritates me is that it's the only auto i've ever had without a gear indicator in the dash, meaning my usual project of making a boot for the shifter and putting a nicer knob on it is a bit more frustrating/


What are my easiest options here? I currently have in my possession a Tom's 3sge cluster (blackface but with carbon inlay) that has the indicator, But just from looking at wiring i know it's not a drop in. I also have an automatic camry gauge from a 5sfe camry which also looks like it would need some harness work if i was to use it, but as far as i can tell would report correctly if i can get it to fit. I also can purchase one of those autometer pod gear indicators, but would prefer an oem look plus it seems they are mostly designed for old school hydraulic/rwd setups.

also when it comes to the shift console, what would be the easiest option? i know the 3sge auto shifter looks to have an extra plug, plus it has the extra ect-s stuff, and it looks like a same era camry shifter would fit as well, that said i'm assuming there is a place i could tap for the indicator somewhere between the gauge and the tcm for signal.

i'm expecting to get no responses but it anyone has anything they could contribute to help out i would be genuinely appreciative.

post Jun 17, 2022 - 11:23 PM
+Quote Post
Bitter

Enthusiast
*****
Joined Mar 11, '06
From Way South Chicago
Currently Offline

Reputation: 0 (0%)




You'll probably need to get some wiring diagrams and compare between cars to see what's different. May be as simple as a different PRNDL switch and some extra wires pinned to it to the cluster.


--------------------
post Aug 24, 2022 - 1:56 PM
+Quote Post
slavie

Enthusiast
**
Joined May 2, '15
From NY
Currently Offline

Reputation: 3 (100%)




I don't think there are "easiest options", really.

If you want the OEM 3SGE cluster to work, you'll need to run the extra wires from shifter or ecu to the cluster. It's not terribly complicated but it is tedious, as you need to figure out which wires need to go where and where the splices will be.

If you are ok with aftermarket gauge, I'm sure it's going to come with instructions of it's own. Though I'd figure it out beforehand, just to make sure it's compatible with the Japanese wonder that the Celica is.

These aren't CAN-BUS cars, so in a way it's easier to get it to work just by running the wires. Figure out which way you want to go an report back.
post Aug 31, 2022 - 3:25 AM
+Quote Post
LgcJairen

Enthusiast

Joined Dec 9, '20
From PIttsburgh, PA
Currently Offline

Reputation: 0 (0%)




QUOTE (slavie @ Aug 24, 2022 - 2:56 PM) *
I don't think there are "easiest options", really.

If you want the OEM 3SGE cluster to work, you'll need to run the extra wires from shifter or ecu to the cluster. It's not terribly complicated but it is tedious, as you need to figure out which wires need to go where and where the splices will be.

If you are ok with aftermarket gauge, I'm sure it's going to come with instructions of it's own. Though I'd figure it out beforehand, just to make sure it's compatible with the Japanese wonder that the Celica is.

These aren't CAN-BUS cars, so in a way it's easier to get it to work just by running the wires. Figure out which way you want to go an report back.




yea my OG plan was to run the wires and splice the cluster pigtails of the 3sge to match the usdm car. my main dilemma was whether it was worth changing the shift assembly over from a car that already had the pigtail and/or get a edm assemble from the 3sge. i was hype tofind a tomscluster so it would be nice to use.

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: October 5th, 2022 - 11:41 PM