6G Celicas Forums

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

4 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> axles..., need info
post Mar 24, 2005 - 8:04 PM
+Quote Post
BBoYRuGGeD



Enthusiast
*****
Joined Jun 4, '04
From Northern New Jersey
Currently Offline

Reputation: 2 (100%)




hey guys... someone please enlighten me!!! say i was gunna do the camry v6/solara tranny swap... i know i need the all-trac axles and the mr2t axles correct? my question is which all-trac axle CAN i use? st165, st185, or st205 axles??? or are they all the same??? confused.gif im a very confused individual! confused.gif

BBoY


--------------------

..(formerly daily driven) 3S-GTE powered celica currently set @ 12psi..
post Mar 25, 2005 - 10:07 AM
+Quote Post
ZoomZoom

Enthusiast
**
Joined Apr 7, '04
From Toronto
Currently Offline

Reputation: 3 (100%)





I know the st185 will work, but can somebody tell us if the st205 will work.
Im assuming that the st205 axles will work for the 6th gen. Please somebody correct me if I'm wrong.
Thanks,








QUOTE(BBoYRuGGeD @ Mar 25, 2005 - 1:04 AM)
hey guys... someone please enlighten me!!!  say i was gunna do the camry v6/solara tranny swap... i know i need the all-trac axles and the mr2t axles correct?  my question is which all-trac axle CAN i use?  st165, st185, or st205 axles???  or are they all the same???  confused.gif  im a very confused individual!  confused.gif

BBoY
[right][snapback]261961[/snapback][/right]

post Mar 28, 2005 - 8:41 AM
+Quote Post
ZoomZoom

Enthusiast
**
Joined Apr 7, '04
From Toronto
Currently Offline

Reputation: 3 (100%)




can somebody please answer this question !!!
I need this info as well.
will the st205 axles will work for the e153 tranny swap?

Thanks for the help...
post Mar 28, 2005 - 10:32 AM
+Quote Post
Supersprynt



Enthusiast
*****
Joined Feb 10, '03
From Connecticut
Currently Offline

Reputation: 11 (100%)




You need hybrid axles no matter what. You can use St205 outta 1/2 shafts and MR2 inners or Solara inners, depending on what tranny.


--------------------
post Mar 28, 2005 - 11:41 AM
+Quote Post
ZoomZoom

Enthusiast
**
Joined Apr 7, '04
From Toronto
Currently Offline

Reputation: 3 (100%)




so the st205 outer shafts would work for the hybrid tranny
thats all I need to know
thanks supersprynt...
post Mar 28, 2005 - 12:38 PM
+Quote Post
sphinx



Enthusiast
***
Joined Apr 10, '03
From South Central Los Angeles
Currently Offline

Reputation: 0 (0%)




I'm using Camry outer shafts and MR2 inner shafts, and they work great.

So either way will work.
post Mar 28, 2005 - 2:47 PM
+Quote Post
Supersprynt



Enthusiast
*****
Joined Feb 10, '03
From Connecticut
Currently Offline

Reputation: 11 (100%)




Sphinx whst kinda information and or knowledge do you have on the mounting of your E153. I am doing this hopefully within the month and theres little spoken of this even though I know 3 ppl who have it here.


--------------------
post Mar 28, 2005 - 6:46 PM
+Quote Post
BBoYRuGGeD



Enthusiast
*****
Joined Jun 4, '04
From Northern New Jersey
Currently Offline

Reputation: 2 (100%)




QUOTE(Supersprynt @ Mar 28, 2005 - 7:47 PM)
Sphinx whst kinda information and or knowledge do you have on the mounting of your E153. I am doing this hopefully within the month and theres little spoken of this even though I know 3 ppl who have it here.
[right][snapback]263249[/snapback][/right]


im pretty sure ive read somewhere that the st205 tranny mounts work... dunno if its all three that work tho. i think i was also told that the gt tranny mounts would also work with some modifications... but thats all i know...

BBoY


--------------------

..(formerly daily driven) 3S-GTE powered celica currently set @ 12psi..
post Mar 28, 2005 - 11:42 PM
+Quote Post
Supersprynt



Enthusiast
*****
Joined Feb 10, '03
From Connecticut
Currently Offline

Reputation: 11 (100%)




Well mounts are mounts and I have MR2 mounts and GT mounts. Those can be basically welded wherever. I'd like to know the specifics of where.


--------------------
post Mar 29, 2005 - 11:40 AM
+Quote Post
Green_MachToy

Enthusiast
*
Joined Mar 21, '04
From Oceanside
Currently Offline

Reputation: 2 (100%)




QUOTE(Supersprynt @ Mar 28, 2005 - 3:32 PM)
You need hybrid axles no matter what. You can use St205 outta 1/2 shafts and MR2 inners or Solara inners, depending on what tranny.
[right][snapback]263127[/snapback][/right]


I had the ST205 axles and actually would not work for my swap with the MR2 Tranny. The reason is the newer axles don't have the hex screws that allow the two different types to bolt up. Because the shaft sizes are different, I don't believe you can do anything else to try and adjust the two to combine. I ended up using 185's with the MR2, but am still killing them. I have gone through two now, and after talking to a few people think it is because I also have to use the Hubs from the ST205.
post Mar 29, 2005 - 12:21 PM
+Quote Post
Supersprynt



Enthusiast
*****
Joined Feb 10, '03
From Connecticut
Currently Offline

Reputation: 11 (100%)




Yeah thats what DMC said you were doing, where are they breaking?

You got any pics of the underside of ur car (tranny mounts specifically)?


--------------------
post Mar 29, 2005 - 1:21 PM
+Quote Post
Green_MachToy

Enthusiast
*
Joined Mar 21, '04
From Oceanside
Currently Offline

Reputation: 2 (100%)




The first set I actualy seized the Joint up between the inner and outer. This in turn bent the inner. $400 later I had a new set of both. This time the same joint is stretched so far, the joint is now clicking like it is ready to come apart.

I can get you pics, it will be a few days. It is at a friends house, he is trying to custom fab me the metal plate that holds the rubber seal between the hood and the bumper. I believe we usead the ST205 mounts as I had the front clip. I will take pics when I get it back.
post Mar 29, 2005 - 2:13 PM
+Quote Post
Supersprynt



Enthusiast
*****
Joined Feb 10, '03
From Connecticut
Currently Offline

Reputation: 11 (100%)




Yeah unfortunately I dont have those. I was thinking mounts must basically be the same, except there are in different locations.


--------------------
post Mar 30, 2005 - 2:11 AM
+Quote Post
sphinx



Enthusiast
***
Joined Apr 10, '03
From South Central Los Angeles
Currently Offline

Reputation: 0 (0%)




i believe the axels that you're using ( st185 outer shafts) are a wee bit too short. That's why they keep going out on you. I've been using the camry outer shaft with for a while now, and have'nt had a problem. I've ran the car hard, and the axels don't pop out or break.

Super,

As for the mounts, I know the ST205 mounts work cause the are the ones I'm using and there was no modification needed. I know that you can use the GT front and rear mount and brackets. As for the driver side mounts, i know you can't use the GT mounts because the bracket is different and will not line up properly. The MR2 mounts will line up perfectly on the tranny, but not sure how it will mount up to the bracket welded on the chassis of the celica. That's why i didn't take a change and just bought the ST205 mounts. I just didn't feel like welding a mount.

I know you asked for me to post some info on mounting this tranny, but everything is pretty much straight forward. Now, if you have certain questions, by all means, just ask and i'll give you my input.

hope that helps.
post Mar 30, 2005 - 7:43 AM
+Quote Post
Supersprynt



Enthusiast
*****
Joined Feb 10, '03
From Connecticut
Currently Offline

Reputation: 11 (100%)




Where'd you find your ST205 mounts? I have a couple MR2 mounts that came with the tranny I also have the GT mounts (whcih are already on the car) so if the mounts on the cross-member already work, then I may just have the one drivers side welded, that maybe less of a headache.


--------------------
post Mar 30, 2005 - 11:06 AM
+Quote Post
sphinx



Enthusiast
***
Joined Apr 10, '03
From South Central Los Angeles
Currently Offline

Reputation: 0 (0%)




I had to order my mounts through the dealer. But yeah, you just have to worry about the driver side mount. The others are ok.
post Mar 30, 2005 - 11:22 AM
+Quote Post
Supersprynt



Enthusiast
*****
Joined Feb 10, '03
From Connecticut
Currently Offline

Reputation: 11 (100%)




Excellent so it looks like what I'm going to end up doing is replacing the rubber mounts cuz mine are shot with better ones and I'll have the one welded in. The ST205 mounts will be pricey? How much you end up spending on them? But thanks I think thats good news.


--------------------
post Mar 30, 2005 - 12:55 PM
+Quote Post
Clipsetuner



Enthusiast
***
Joined Sep 12, '03
From Portland , Oregon , United States
Currently Offline

Reputation: -1 (33%)




I am using the Solara Tranny with my 3s swap with camrey outer shafts, still tracking parts but ill be interesting.

DTE


--------------------
I am a thief.
do not buy anything from me.
post Mar 31, 2005 - 9:17 AM
+Quote Post
ZoomZoom

Enthusiast
**
Joined Apr 7, '04
From Toronto
Currently Offline

Reputation: 3 (100%)




I thought your supposed to used the inner shaft of the E153 tranny and the outer shaft of the st185. how does the camry/solara outer shaft works.
If that works, then that means that you can use the whole axle from the solara/camry e153 tranny.

Please let me know.
Thanks
post Apr 1, 2005 - 12:02 AM
+Quote Post
sphinx



Enthusiast
***
Joined Apr 10, '03
From South Central Los Angeles
Currently Offline

Reputation: 0 (0%)




Ok. Here are the part #'s for the motor mounts, motor mount brackets, and shift linkage / cables from a ST205.


12361-74340.......... Insulator.......... $47.10
12371-74440.......... Insulator.......... $88.00
12372-74500.......... Insulator.......... $109.00

12311-74160.......... Bracket, EN.......... $40.00
12321-74310.......... Bracket, EN.......... $26.00
12325-74230.......... Bracket, EN.......... $53.00

33820-2B350.......... Shift Cables.......... $341.00

I ordered these through Champion Toyota and were all a special order from Japan. Those are the list prices for those items.

(713)943-7010 Direct Parts Line




QUOTE(Supersprynt @ Mar 30, 2005 - 8:22 AM)
Excellent so it looks like what I'm going to end up doing is replacing the rubber mounts cuz mine are shot with better ones and I'll have the one welded in. The ST205 mounts will be pricey? How much you end up spending on them? But thanks I think thats good news.
[right][snapback]264035[/snapback][/right]


4 Pages V   1 2 3 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: October 20th, 2018 - 3:41 PM