Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 5sfe Turbo Manifold Question
6G Celicas Forums > 6th Generation Celica > Engine/Transmission/Maintenance
turboinduction
Celi-guys,
I'm new to the Celica world and to this website. Not to turbos though... I've been running DSMs since I had my license. It says in the 5sfe walkthrough that you use a 4th gen ST185 exhaust manifold to turbo the car. If thats the case, can you use a ST185 Alltrac turbo upgrade kit.... like Blitz? Meaning larger turbo and possible better flowing exhaust manifold. I just think that I'll spend about the same amount of money on purchasing NEW 4th-gen ST185 parts over the Blitz upgrade. So why not go that route. Please slap me if i'm being naive on the subject. Thanks.

Edit:I mean 5th gen ST185 - I had a blonde moment
94Toy
I would assume that would work, but your still going to have to tap the oil lines and such.

If you want to save some money I would not buy an actual upgrade, but I would go another route, which I would say is going to be cheaper. First off I know turbonetics makes a manifold which they claim will bolt up to the 5S which you can find here.

then just find a turbo to slap on there tap the oil lines. get all the other stuff you need, and your set. Yeah, sounds simple enough confused.gif . But if you do it this way instead of buy like a blitz type of upgrade you will save a lot of money.

However they advantage to just doing a 3s swap is that your upgrades potential are virtually unlimited compared to the 5S. No matter which way you go, either through blitz of the way I described. Look for only around 200 wheel hp if that. Without seriouse internal engine upgrade your only going to be able to run an intercolled 6-8 psi. Where as with the 3s you can get double the hp with minimal of no internal upgrades just proper tunning.