Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 7th gen shifter/ NEW CAR!
6G Celicas Forums > 6th Generation Celica > General Discussion
camthman
Hi guys, Im new to to the celica stuff, However I am pretty mechanical. I bought a 6th gen celica and its full race equipped. Full cage, full suspension, the whole bit. Anyways, I relized that some people are using the 7th gen shifter. Is this just an easy bolt-on or is there alot of work to get it to work on the 6th gen. Thanks guys. Ill post some pics soon. Thanks!
j0e_p3t
you mean the 7gc short shifter? its a basic bolt on installation. pretty simple, took me about 45 mins ish. btw, welcome to the site. where in cali are you located?
camthman
Thanks... Im in Bakersfield. Ive been racing alot lately with the car. I have raced mostly at willowsprings raceway and buttonwillow. Both pretty close to Bakersfield.

-- So I could just get a 7gc off ebay and it will fit fine? I guess I just saw that all of them were for 2000 and on and thought it wouldnt work. Thanks.
jason
welcome to the site n deff post some pics =)
jdg371
Sounds like you might have one of the Celebrity Race Cars?
camthman
YUP!!! got one of the celbrity cars... lol. Ironically.... My name is Cameron, and I got Cameron Diez' cars. lol. So the ones off ebay will work?
jdg371
Yep. They have been tested and proven by many members. Just remember to get the ones with 4 big washers and bolts.
camthman
ya man... This is my first FWD car. I have a cobra that I race as well.... But they were selling the celicas for soooo cheap I wanted one.... lol. The thing handles really well. The one I bought was pretty beat up when i got it. Just replaced tires, got alighnement, changed all the fluids, stripped most of the interior, moved battery to the back, and mad a homeade intake.

-- Any short throws on ebay that are better than others?
jdg371
not quite sure if the ebay shifters are much different from each other. If you want something better.. TRD might be the way to go.