Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: rebuilding a 5sfe to handle boost, good or bad idea?
6G Celicas Forums > 6th Generation Celica > Engine/Transmission/Maintenance
3sgteLuke
hey guys,

in the last couple of years ive become really serious about working on cars (so much so that im majoring in ME) and now im planning on getting an engine rebuild under my belt. I work for advance auto and the CNC company my dad oversees is also my disposal; so theres no problems as far a recources go. with that said, my plan is to find a used 5sfe and rebuild it with high strength internals and optimizing it to efficiently flow boost. IE: I want build up a 5sfe so i can turn it into a reliable 5sfte before i drop it into my car. Now BEFORE you start telling me im an idiot read my reasons:

1. a swap is technically waaay over my head and means too much down time for my daily driver ( i figure you should be able to rebuild an engine with your eyes closed before you do a swap anyway)
2. You say:" if a swap if waay over your head then forget about an engine rebuild" I say: "**** you, and mention that with the rebuild i can take all the time i want and make as many mistakes as i need because my celi will still be drivable"
3. an engine rebuild is next on my list of learning so why not take the opportunity to build a high strength drop in for my car?
4. Even if I wanted to tackle a swap, tracking down a viable clip for a reasonable amount of cash is starting to get difficult ( jarco not importing and all...) yes I know it can be done. no i dont want to do it.
5. Im sure everyone here knows that with a swap you have to do it right the first time. i dont want to make learning mistakes on my celica. If i mess up an engine rebuild. no big deal. 5sfe's are a dime a dozen compared to 3s's
6. an engine rebuild is more forgiving because at least its a well documented process that i can follow step by step as opposed to shooting in the dark with a 3s swap.