Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Clutch Fluid change
6G Celicas Forums > 6th Generation Celica > Engine/Transmission/Maintenance
PolliS_5S-FE
hi guys i want to do a clutch fluid change as i have never done one before and i got a few questions.

does it require any specific tools (other than everyday ones sockets, spanners etc etc)

is it a relativly easy job 2 do?

Also what kind of fluid goes into the clutch, ive heard its the same as brake fluid but that doesnt sounds quite right to me.

As i said ive never done one before so i woudnt even know where to start lol. i can do basic maintanance oil change, coolant etc so would it be worth it to do it myself. im a real do it yourself kinda guy when it comes to cars. i reckon why pay someone to do it for u when u can do it urself and save money AND learn something new.

Any tips and info is much appreciated, thanks biggrin.gif
Hanyo
its like bleeding the brakes.

you crack open your slave cylinder nipple and have someone else pump the clutch. Remember to keep refilling your clutch reservoir.

that should be it.
Por2geezcelica
i thought in order to bleed it properly, you needed 2 people, one in the car to pump the clutch, and one in the engine bay to open the valve. I thought the proper way was to pump the clutch a few times, then hold it down. While the clutch is held down, open the valve. Once the little bit of fluid comes out, close the valve and repeat. Is that the proper way to do it?
lagos
QUOTE (Por2geezcelica @ Sep 5, 2008 - 3:21 PM) *
i thought in order to bleed it properly, you needed 2 people, one in the car to pump the clutch, and one in the engine bay to open the valve. I thought the proper way was to pump the clutch a few times, then hold it down. While the clutch is held down, open the valve. Once the little bit of fluid comes out, close the valve and repeat. Is that the proper way to do it?

Yes, thats it.