Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: N/A hp or boost?
6G Celicas Forums > 6th Generation Celica > Engine/Transmission/Maintenance
bseaman_5
I've been reading a lot about boosting the 5sfe and I think I have decided it just wouldn't be practical being that my celi is my dd... I would love to boost it but I'm thinking it would almost just be more beneficial for me to leave it as a N/A and just try to get as much HP out of it as I can.. So what I'm really looking for is what things can I do to get the most HP out of my car? I have already done a CAI, Header, and 2.5" decat Custom exhaust all the way back. I have read that I can't advance the timing on my car cuz the ECU fixes it back to stock settings.. I've read about webcams?? But don't know much about it, and what could I do for my Fuel management? But if I could even get a list of things to add as much HP that would be great. And I'll prolly end up asking questions about a lot of stuff cuz I'm still learning here.. Thanks in advance..

B.
Spider77
Believe me, Im pretty much in the same boat w/you. But you can only push an NA build so far and you pretty much have the eaiser stuff covered (header, CAI, custom exhaust). You could get your cams hardwelded , but at 664 (i just checked), plus the downtime (if youve never done it before) to install you would be better off saving for a swap. Read this. I pulled the link from celiatech and it pretty much addresses your question. "A 150rwhp or higher 5SFE should be able to be built for for less then $2000 if you find the right deals and install everything yourself." 2000 for 150 dosent seem like it would be worth the money. Another 3000 and I could have that MR2 q/3sgte already in it.
bseaman_5