Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: how to start, where to start
6G Celicas Forums > 6th Generation Celica > Engine/Transmission/Maintenance
babi_boi
i am not completly new to imports but i am new to celicas. right now my car is stock exept for a cold air intake. on other cars the first thing i did was upgrade the distributor, plugs, wires, injectors.etc so my question is what do i do first, where do i start
bccentaur3
What upgrade dizzy and injectors? What size injectors are you running? Are you just running rich with nothing to control the added fuel with?

What kind of power goals are you looking to reach?
What year celica do you have? Since you acquired a some what older car, I would look into doing maintenance before upgrading anything.
babi_boi
right now all is stock exept intake, car is running good but it cant compete in the 1/4 mile. so the power goal is just to b able to run in the 1/4 and actually have a 1/2 way decent time.(somewhere around 10-12 sec in a 1/4 when the car is done)
it is a 94 and the maintenance seems to b ok but the sparkplug wires are tiny so when i do the tune up i dont really want to put the same tiny stock wires on, do i?
and if i get bigger wires how big can i go with out going to big, then with bigger wires am i going to have to get a better distributor or injectors?
bccentaur3
This aint a Honda buddy. Use ONLY toyota wires. They are proven to handle power. I've had some issues where when I boosted my 5s the ignition would cut on me. Stick with Toyota wires. Plugs go with ngk. If you are looking for power, I say boost it or swap a 3s but you still won't hit 10-12 seconds in the quarter mile.

The dizzy, I don't think theres an upgrade out there. Stick with the stock one.

Header intake and exhaust won't do much for you. Only way to go is Forced Induction.
babi_boi