Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Fluids tune up etc.
6G Celicas Forums > 6th Generation Celica > Engine/Transmission/Maintenance
mi645
Hello everyone I'm new to celiacs Ive had mine for about 3 month basically the summer and I love the car it's fun to drive its a hasstle when it comes to leaking I fixed some stuff here in there the car yes slow for what it should be but I like it. Gas!!!! It supposed to save gas but it's avg lower than should be any ideas?

Also I recently changed my clutch master cylinder and slave cylinder with oem I like qualit basically and I used ate super blue for the clutch master and blessed the system do all good there I was looking at my power steering today it seems to play with idle when I turn while my car is at a full stop or parked I wanted to change tr fluid today but I don't know how to drain the power steering or flush the system properly can anyone tell me how? And where should I get my power steering fluid from?
Special_Edy
The power steering eats power when you use it so it drops the idle, but theres also a idle up valve to the intake from the powersteering so that will make it idle up. Lastly but most importantly you are never supposed to turn the steering on a powersteering equiped car without the car moving. If youre at a dead stop and you turn the steering wheel youre placing an abnormally high load on the powersteering system and youre more likely to break something or wear out the powersteering.

As for a tune-up, Id pull the sparkplugs and check/replace them, inspect/replace the cap and rotor and ignition wires. Make sure your tire pressures are normal, 30-35 psi. Maybe run a can of SeaFoam through the vacuum system.
mi645