Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: MBC questions.
6G Celicas Forums > 6th Generation Celica > Engine/Transmission/Maintenance
Uppitycracker
Alright Im new to the turbo scene and Im exploring the possibility of increasing my performance, and am currently on a tight budget. I was hoping to have sometihng for spring time, I was looking into a boost controller and obviously I cant spend 800CND on a EBC, so I was searching around the mr2 forums and they were talking about just using the ebay mbc's, they are only like 12 bucks which seems to good to be true but at the same time its not like a mbc is all that complex.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAP...ShippingPayment

So anyone ever purchased something similar? And please spare me the "get what you pay for", Im more or less more concerned with safety rather then it working or not. Is there any advantage to buying a more expensive product other then it looking better?
Supersprynt
With the MBC's, im thinking whats the purpose? Yeah u can control ur boost but you gotta get outta ur car, you gotta increase boost, check it by driving? And then do it all over again to u get it right.

This is what i was thinking: Your crusing on the high way and some big shot in a Honda thinks he's all that, now the 3sgte by itself is going to kick the crap outta him anyways, but what if its something more powerful or you want to just dessimate the honda WHILE driving. Are you going to stop, pop the hood, turn the boost up, and then do it, no you want something in cabin or preset.

EBC's are insanely expensive. I was so set on the Apex'i but after i looked at it, yeah it has RPM based boosting which is real nice, but alot of other things frankly, i dont really need.