Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: RWD conversion opinion
6G Celicas Forums > 6th Generation Celica > General Discussion
CentralMarylandAuto
Hi everyone. I'm new to this group so let me introduce myself. My name is Arthur and I own and operate Central Maryland Automotive in Westminster, MD. You can also visit my Facebook page "Central Maryland Automotive" as well.

Anyway I just bought a 1994 Celica ST 5-speed the other day and was curious in the direction I should go with the car.

I have the option to fix the car back to stock requiring replacing the engine and sell it outright or modifying it to a rear wheel drive and selling it.

So my question is this...do people have the money that buy and modify these cars to spend $10k-$15k for a custom and vey rare rear wheel drive version of these cars?

Now before I start a **** storm of people saying "don't do it, oh it's too hard, save your money" blah blah blah....I am a very skilled mechanic and fabricator. Converting into a RWD version will be challenging but can be done none the less and I have no problem putting the time and money into it. I've been doing this like this for 16+ years so I am well aware of the cost and time in it. So I do not need opinions on what it will take because I know exactly what I'm doing and how to do it.

So what I'm looking for is this...are there people that buy these cars who would be "willing and able" to fork out $10k-15k for a rarely done RWD conversion with a 600hp+ built KA24DE-T engine? I already have the race engine done from a previous build for one of our drifters that we never used and was considering putting it into something. However if people do not have the money to buy the Celica for what I need to then I won't even bother. I'll just drop another 1.8L into it and sell it as-is.