6G Celicas Forums

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Installing my Premier 770, How do I?
post Mar 15, 2005 - 11:05 AM
+Quote Post
JoKeRkId613

Enthusiast
*****
Joined Apr 25, '03
From Miami, FL
Currently Offline

Reputation: 9 (100%)




I just got a Pioneer Premier DEH-P770MP(Very Nice)
There's a bunch of colorful wires with tags on it. Battery, Antenna, etc.
Are they colormatched to the factory wires? Because I have the tags on the new wires but I don't know what wires to hook them up to. And what do I use to make the connection between the two wires. I've seen little caps used to connect the cables but im not sure what theyre called. thanks.


--------------------
IPB Image
post Mar 15, 2005 - 2:25 PM
+Quote Post
Batman722



Enthusiast
*****
Joined Mar 8, '04
From Newport, RI
Currently Offline

Reputation: 63 (99%)




you should use a harness adapter. It's like $5 at Walmart or autozone. OIt will make everything much easier. Also, there is an install how-to here pdf format download from this site install doctor

good luck and if you have any other questions, post em up wink.gif


--------------------
post Mar 15, 2005 - 10:37 PM
+Quote Post
JoKeRkId613

Enthusiast
*****
Joined Apr 25, '03
From Miami, FL
Currently Offline

Reputation: 9 (100%)




Thanks a lot bro. That guide is awesome. I'm going to go buy that harness adapter to make it easier. Should be just as good as directly connecting it. Thanks again, man!


--------------------
IPB Image
post Mar 15, 2005 - 11:05 PM
+Quote Post
RbrtNdrws



Enthusiast
***
Joined Jul 8, '04
From Durham, NC
Currently Offline

Reputation: 6 (100%)




QUOTE(JoKeRkId613 @ Mar 16, 2005 - 3:37 AM)
Thanks a lot bro. That guide is awesome. I'm going to go buy that harness adapter to make it easier. Should be just as good as directly connecting it. Thanks again, man!
[right][snapback]257841[/snapback][/right]



i assume that you have the 6 speakers? if you have the 8 speakers (3 on each side in front) you will need the metra amp integration harness to get the headunit to work with the stock amps...

-Rob


--------------------
IPB Image
post Mar 16, 2005 - 12:43 AM
+Quote Post
Batman722



Enthusiast
*****
Joined Mar 8, '04
From Newport, RI
Currently Offline

Reputation: 63 (99%)




he has a 94 ST, my 95 ST only has 4 speakers.


--------------------
post Dec 26, 2005 - 4:34 PM
+Quote Post
azian_advanced



Enthusiast
*****
Joined Apr 18, '05
From Calgary
Currently Offline

Reputation: 20 (100%)




QUOTE(RbrtNdrws @ Mar 15, 2005 - 10:05 PM) [snapback]257850[/snapback]

QUOTE(JoKeRkId613 @ Mar 16, 2005 - 3:37 AM)
Thanks a lot bro. That guide is awesome. I'm going to go buy that harness adapter to make it easier. Should be just as good as directly connecting it. Thanks again, man!
[snapback]257841[/snapback]




i assume that you have the 6 speakers? if you have the 8 speakers (3 on each side in front) you will need the metra amp integration harness to get the headunit to work with the stock amps...

-Rob




where can i buy this kind of harness? (i have the 8 speaker system with dual factory amplifiers.)
i want to use another factory Toyota cd stereo in place of my current one and still use the stock amps so i won't have to meddle with rewiring each speaker to new aftermarket amplifiers.


--------------------
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
post Dec 30, 2005 - 1:45 AM
+Quote Post
Tech9ine



Enthusiast
**
Joined Jun 28, '05
From MB, Canada
Currently Offline

Reputation: 1 (100%)




I've got a Premier 4700mp. very similar deck, i got the harness at Brian Reimer audio in winnipeg. Best buy has it too.
post Jan 12, 2006 - 4:04 PM
+Quote Post
downshft



Enthusiast

Joined Dec 12, '04
From GTA, Ontario
Currently Offline

Reputation: 0 (0%)




frown.gif

I'm having a devil of a time trying to unplug a connection that bypasses the amp so I can connect my rear speakers. The space is so small under the amplifier box and I have to try and 'pull' the wires 'away' from me to get the white connector off. I can't see any other way of getting to this connector without taking out my front seat(s) All I want to do is remove the panel next to the accelerator. I even tried prying the carpet to get my hand in.

I hate my car now.

*edit*... what I'm talking about is the Installation Note: section on page 4.

This post has been edited by downshft: Jan 12, 2006 - 4:06 PM
post Oct 16, 2006 - 10:26 PM
+Quote Post
bdweber3



Enthusiast

Joined Sep 12, '06
From Telford PA
Currently Offline

Reputation: 0 (0%)




i have a six speaker system and i put in a harness by bypassing the stock amp but now only 4 speekers and my tweeters dont work but is there a harness made for 6 speakers systems? if there is please let me know. im very interested in getting one.


--------------------
IPB Image

IPB Image
post Jan 12, 2007 - 6:57 PM
+Quote Post
gabyz



Enthusiast
*
Joined Jan 11, '07
From Fort Lauderdale, FL
Currently Offline

Reputation: 0 (0%)




QUOTE(downshft @ Jan 12, 2006 - 9:04 PM) [snapback]377700[/snapback]

frown.gif

I'm having a devil of a time trying to unplug a connection that bypasses the amp so I can connect my rear speakers. The space is so small under the amplifier box and I have to try and 'pull' the wires 'away' from me to get the white connector off. I can't see any other way of getting to this connector without taking out my front seat(s) All I want to do is remove the panel next to the accelerator. I even tried prying the carpet to get my hand in.

I hate my car now.

*edit*... what I'm talking about is the Installation Note: section on page 4.

hey downshift, I am having the same problem to. I'm trying to put in a new basic cd player 1 din system in my 6g. But I cant get to that blue connection under the amp! Does anyone know

Question: Since the new player will have its own built in amp, do I need to keep the orignal one down there?


--------------------
3 post spoiler for sale: Click here

post Feb 8, 2007 - 1:00 PM
+Quote Post
Manny



Enthusiast
*
Joined Feb 8, '07
From Oakland, Ca USA
Currently Offline

Reputation: 0 (0%)




Does your new CD player have RCA pre-amp connectors on it? If so, just get an aftermarket Toyota/Lexus factory amp integration harness. That will make the installation go a lot easier, since it will allow you to plug your new cd player into the harness from the back of the stock stereo, without having to mess with the amp.

I had the same issue, and I had to remove the kick panels to get to the amp wiring, so i got an integration harness and I was also able to take advantage of all 8 speakers in my car.

Hope this helps..

-M-


--------------------
-M-
post Feb 9, 2007 - 6:20 PM
+Quote Post
laff09

Enthusiast
***
Joined Jul 28, '06
From Delaware
Currently Offline

Reputation: 0 (0%)




a little off-topic, but your profile says your using Bosch platinum plugs ... I thought they were detrimental to our engines, something about the spark being too powerful? can anyone confirm/deny this? Not trying to step on your toes or anything, was just curious
post Jun 26, 2007 - 2:18 PM
+Quote Post
celicat

Enthusiast

Joined Jun 26, '07
From MD
Currently Offline

Reputation: 0 (0%)




I just bought a sony chameleon headunit from a friend and then i went to best buy to buy the wiring harness. I got the one for toyotas 1987+, I drive a 95 gt, but when i went to plug it into my factory wires it doesn't fit at all.

I'm wondering did I buy the wrong harness or am I just doing something wrong? The wiring harness came with one big plug and one small plug but there is only one factory wire.

Any insight would be very helpful
post Jun 26, 2007 - 2:25 PM
+Quote Post
94celigts



Enthusiast
**
Joined Jun 13, '07
From Whitby, ON, CAN
Currently Offline

Reputation: 6 (100%)




i removed the stock amps in my 8 speaker system and found the proper plug for my adapter from Futureshop. I just spliced the 3.5 and the door sub's together, so now they are running on the same channel it works, but im sure separated they would sound a bit better
post Jun 26, 2007 - 2:25 PM
+Quote Post
RbrtNdrws



Enthusiast
***
Joined Jul 8, '04
From Durham, NC
Currently Offline

Reputation: 6 (100%)




Wow this topic is oooollld. Do you have the double din stereo or single ?


--------------------
IPB Image
post Dec 26, 2007 - 11:42 PM
+Quote Post
tjblacrosse



Enthusiast
**
Joined Oct 25, '07
From Eagan, MN
Currently Offline

Reputation: 3 (100%)




nice system

This post has been edited by tjblacrosse: Jan 1, 2008 - 1:24 PM
post Jan 30, 2011 - 5:48 PM
+Quote Post
BonzaiCelica



Enthusiast
*****
Joined Apr 24, '08
From Orange County, CA
Currently Offline

Reputation: 33 (100%)




btw, would it be possible to add an aux cable to a stock 99 Celica GT Head Unit. I just don't want to be carrying around a whole bunch of cd's in the car as I would prefer to have the Ipod connected


--------------------
post Jan 30, 2011 - 6:07 PM
+Quote Post
mkernz22



Enthusiast
*****
Joined May 10, '10
From Norton, MA
Currently Offline

Reputation: 36 (100%)




QUOTE (BonzaiCelica @ Jan 30, 2011 - 5:48 PM) *
btw, would it be possible to add an aux cable to a stock 99 Celica GT Head Unit. I just don't want to be carrying around a whole bunch of cd's in the car as I would prefer to have the Ipod connected


highly doubt it.
post Jan 30, 2011 - 6:12 PM
+Quote Post
richee3



Moderator
*****
Joined Jun 29, '08
From Denver
Currently Offline

Reputation: 59 (100%)




For a '98-99 Celica with an OEM radio, you can actually buy a box from GROM Audio that does iPod integration. I can't confirm that the radio was the same for the '94-97 model though. The box plugs directly into the back of the CD player and then you can put your iPod anywhere in the car- in your hand, in your glovebox, anywhere the cable will reach- and you can control the iPod using the head unit. Just the same as if it was a CD. I have one in my IS 300 and it's simply brilliant. Clicky.

Most (if not all) aftermarket stereos will support iPods. As far as using the factory stereo and making an auxiliary port, it's very possible. There's a writeup somewhere around 6gc, and there are plenty of Toyota forums around where people have done their own aux port. The concept is the same for our radio.

Edit: Found the 6gc writeup. Clicky.

This post has been edited by richee3: Jan 30, 2011 - 6:21 PM


--------------------
"Employ your time in improving yourself by other men's writings, so that you shall gain easily what others labored hard for." -Socrates. Even Socrates told us to use the search button!

1997 Supra- TT 6 speed, BPU.
1998 Celica GT-
BEAMS Swapped.
2019 Rav4.
2001 Lexus LX470.
post Feb 2, 2011 - 3:10 AM
+Quote Post
delusionz



Enthusiast
*****
Joined Feb 11, '08
From Auckland, New Zealand
Currently Offline

Reputation: 0 (0%)




Hey speaking of the 6 speaker system, do you guys know how the factory tweeters are wired in? do they run in parallel with the door speakers or is there a hidden crossover?


--------------------
Mike W
1996 Toyota Celica ST205 GT-FOUR
GT2860RS turbine, TiAL mvr44, JE 86.5φ piston, Clutchmasters FX400, APEX P-FC
269awhp / 273ft-lbs

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: October 23rd, 2019 - 6:49 AM