6G Celicas Forums

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> JDM Tachometer Installation, from ST205 Gauge Cluster
post Aug 31, 2011 - 8:37 AM
+Quote Post
purplegt4



Enthusiast
*****
Joined Feb 7, '03
From Northern Virginia
Currently Offline

Reputation: 23 (100%)




Before


Removed cluster from dash, then removed screws on top left


Popped out clear plastic by pushing clear tabs.


Removed black bezel


Have 2 pieces off the cluster


removed 3 screws around the black box directly behind the tachometer


side by side view


usdm tach rear circuit board...


...is the same as the jdm tach rear circuit board.


new brake / (!) light.


After


This post has been edited by purplegt4: Jul 7, 2014 - 10:53 PM
post Sep 7, 2011 - 12:25 AM
+Quote Post
Fate



Enthusiast
****
Joined Nov 30, '04
From Atlantic City
Currently Offline

Reputation: 21 (100%)




very nice. i was actually just thinking tonight that i would like to do this in the near future.


--------------------
post Sep 7, 2011 - 12:55 AM
+Quote Post
BonzaiCelica



Enthusiast
*****
Joined Apr 24, '08
From Orange County, CA
Currently Offline

Reputation: 33 (100%)




very simple and effective thanks.


--------------------
post Sep 7, 2011 - 2:17 AM
+Quote Post
Cuts_the_Pilot



Enthusiast
***
Joined Dec 15, '02
From Tasmania(Australia)
Currently Offline

Reputation: 0 (0%)




I think i still have my stock dials left if someone wants them to do this mod.
PM me if interested.


--------------------
ST205 Group A Rallye GT-Four, #61 of 77............600hp GT3582r
GRX133 Toyota Mark X 350s
post Sep 7, 2011 - 7:05 PM
+Quote Post
HectortheRican



Enthusiast
*****
Joined Dec 26, '09
From Albuquerque, NM
Currently Offline

Reputation: 19 (100%)




So let me get this straight, so this mod is purely aesthetic? Obviously it doesn't increase the revs to 9k rolleyes.gif , but will the needle still function at the same rate as it would on the USDM tach?

Edit: Because if it is just aesthetic, and the needle will function at exactly the same rate as before, I may snag your tach, Cuts.

This post has been edited by HectortheRican: Sep 7, 2011 - 7:06 PM


--------------------
taking too long to mod since '09
June '12 COTM
'95 AT200
post Sep 7, 2011 - 7:16 PM
+Quote Post
Cuts_the_Pilot



Enthusiast
***
Joined Dec 15, '02
From Tasmania(Australia)
Currently Offline

Reputation: 0 (0%)




Sorry dude the dials are spoken for. You are currently 3rd in line, so if the other two dont come through with the goods they are yours tongue.gif. Probably not likely.

No it doesnt increase the revs.


--------------------
ST205 Group A Rallye GT-Four, #61 of 77............600hp GT3582r
GRX133 Toyota Mark X 350s
post Sep 7, 2011 - 10:48 PM
+Quote Post
Fate



Enthusiast
****
Joined Nov 30, '04
From Atlantic City
Currently Offline

Reputation: 21 (100%)




They're mine! Cuts lets make this happen


--------------------
post Sep 7, 2011 - 11:54 PM
+Quote Post
FORGMANN



Enthusiast
***
Joined Dec 11, '04
From WI
Currently Offline

Reputation: 12 (83%)




I sold him the tach pictured.. its is a non beams tach
with beams circuit board to process right signal.

I have in my car now a beams cluster running a 5sfe (soon
to be actual beams) and works as normal. I did it by swapping
non beams 3sge circuit board on back and since signal is same type
as 5sfe reads correctly.

I did it in 5sfe car for hell of it until i strip car for swap. 9k cluster
is really only useful for Beams,3sge or 3sgte swapped cars. If installling
in 5sfe powered car it is a complete waste of time and money.

To swap boards there is few screws and 4 tabs in center you bend up
slightly. Install new board bend tabs back,screw in done.

If you get a complete st205 or 3sge st202 tach then bolt right and work
with no mods. Again waste of time on 5s powered car

I can supply more tachs possibly if needed..


--------------------
Old guy with the toys
95 ST205 WRC (the real deal)
94 MR2 HARDTOP Supercharged 2GR/6SPD 22 owned
post Sep 9, 2011 - 3:30 PM
+Quote Post
NYp8tBaller07



Enthusiast
***
Joined Jan 30, '11
From Albany, NY
Currently Offline

Reputation: 4 (100%)




you should get some LED's for the cherry on top tongue.gif


--------------------

Power in Balance
90 ST coupe- Sold
95 ST hatch- Dead :(
02 Impreza RS- DD
post Sep 9, 2011 - 4:09 PM
+Quote Post
purplegt4



Enthusiast
*****
Joined Feb 7, '03
From Northern Virginia
Currently Offline

Reputation: 23 (100%)




QUOTE (HectortheRican @ Sep 7, 2011 - 8:05 PM) *
So let me get this straight, so this mod is purely aesthetic? Obviously it doesn't increase the revs to 9k rolleyes.gif


this came from my clip. it just adds a 9 and the needle no longer goes into the red.

QUOTE (FORGMANN @ Sep 8, 2011 - 12:54 AM) *
I sold him the tach pictured.. its is a non beams tach


I think that was a looonnnggg time ago! haha I sold that old cluster.
post Mar 29, 2013 - 3:43 AM
+Quote Post
1soljaslim5



Enthusiast
*
Joined Mar 5, '12
From Sacramento
Currently Offline

Reputation: 3 (100%)




do you know if i can do that from a st202 cluster and swap out the rpm and the fuel and temp tachs into the st204??


--------------------
post Jul 6, 2014 - 8:10 PM
+Quote Post
msk59



Enthusiast
***
Joined May 10, '14
From Tulsa, OK
Currently Offline

Reputation: 5 (100%)






Sorry to resurrect an old thread but cannot see pictures any more.If someone can update the pictures that would be great.

This post has been edited by msk59: Jul 6, 2014 - 8:10 PM

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: October 23rd, 2019 - 1:24 AM